Palaeontology
print

Links and Functions
Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Content

Molecular Geo- and Palaeobiology Lab

eingang

The laboratories of Molecular Geo- and Palaeobiology are equipped for molecular analyses in genome and proteome research. The core of this unit comprises four S1-certified molecular laboratories with a total of 23 bench places distributed over 130 square metres laboratory area:  

 

 

 

These laboratories are equipped with an Illumina MiniSeq benchtop sequencer, a Bioanalyzer 2100, a Rotor-Gene Q (qPCR) thermal cycler (QIAGEN), four Biometra thermal cyclers, spectrometers, fluorometers, and various other instruments for standard molecular analysis including genomics, proteomics, and transcriptomics. S1 infrastructure includes autoclave, sterile benches, UV crosslinker, ultrapure water system and various incubators.

Two separate refrigerator and freezer rooms provide 4°C to -80°C storage space for samples.

Adjacent to the S1 laboratories is the electrophoresis room with gel documentation and darkroom.

The microscope room offers various microscopic facilities including fluorescence microscopes, stereomicroscopes and image processing. The microscope equipment includes a Leica DM LB transmitted light microscope, a Leica M165FC fluorescence stereomicroscope and a Leitz DMRP polarization microscope.

The histology laboratory  has extensive equipment for fixation, staining and preparation of histological sections, such as a Leica RM2255 microtome and a Leica SP1600 hard section microtome.

We have been operating marine research aquariums very successfully since 2009. Three aquarium rooms offer excellent possibilities for the cultivation of marine model organisms and experimental research. The first aquarium room is equipped with a 330 l experimental tank and a 310 l tank, both on separate water circuits, and a rack with 21 x 9 l tanks. The aquariums can be individually supplied by two independent seawater systems for a variety of experiments. A second aquarium room contains four separate water circuits (1800 l, 2040 l, 1350 l and 1220 l, each system being divided into several separate tanks), including a number of smaller, mobile tanks for individual experiment set-ups.

The lab's own computing infrastructure includes a Linux cluster (540 cores - 4992GB RAM + Nvidia TitanV - 12GB VRAM 640 tensor cores), database servers (MariaDB and PostgreSQL) with 32 cores and 128GB RAM, 26TB HPC storage, a central data storage with ~200TB capacity, a Galaxy server for reproducible management of complex analysis workflows and a Geneious server for standard sequence analysis.

Research Projects

Research in the laboratories focuses on evolution, genomics, proteomics, biodiversity, systematics and biomineralisation of marine invertebrates, such as sponges, echinoderms, bacterial sponge symbionts, biomineralisation of sponges, soft and hard corals, deep phylogeny of the animals and the development of bioinformatics tools. (See www.geobiology.eu).

Contact

Lehrstuhl für Paläontologie & Geobiologie
print

Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Labore für Molekulare Geo- und Paläobiologie

eingangDie Labore der Molekularen Geo- und Paläobiologie sind ausgerichtet auf Molekularanalysen in der Genom- und Proteomforschung. Kern dieser Einheit sind vier S1-zertifizierte Molekularlabore mit insgesamt 23 Arbeitsplätzen verteilt auf 130 Quadratmetern Grundfläche: 

 

 

 

 

Die Ausstattung dieser Labore umfasst einen Illumina MiniSeq Benchtop-Sequenzer, einen Bioanalyzer 2100, einen Rotor-Gene Q (qPCR) Thermocycler (QIAGEN), vier Biometra Thermocycler sowie Spektrometer, Fluorometer, und verschiedene andere Geräte für molekulare Standardanalysen einschließlich Genomik, Proteomik und Transkriptomik. S1 Infrastruktur umfasst unter anderem Autoklav, Sterilbänke, UV- crosslinker, Reinstwasseranlage und verschiedenste Inkubatoren.

Zwei separate Kühl- und Gefrierschrankräume bieten Lagerungsmöglichkeit für Proben von 4oC bis zu -80oC.

Separat zu den S1-Laboren befindet sich der Elektrophoreseraum mit Geldokumentation und angrenzender Dunkelkammer.

Der Mikroskopraum bietet verschiedene mikroskopische Einrichtungen einschließlich Fluoreszenzmikroskopen, Stereomikroskopen und Bildbearbeitung. Die mikroskopielle Ausstattung umfasst ein Leica Leica DM LB Durchlichtmikroskop, ein Leica M165FC Fluoreszenz-Stereomikroskop sowie ein Leitz DMRP Polarisationsmikroskop.

Das Histologielabor hat eine umfangreiche Ausstattung für Fixierung, Färbung und Herstellung histologischer Schnitte, wie ein Leica RM2255 Mikrotom und eine Leica SP1600 Innenlochsäge (Hartteilmikrotom).

Wir betreiben seit 2009 sehr erfolgreich Meeresforschungsaquarien. Drei Aquarienräume bieten exzellente Möglichkeiten der Kultivierung mariner Modellorganismen und experimenteller Forschung. Der erste Aquarienraum ist mit einem 330 l Experimentierbecken und einem 310 l Becken ausgestattet, beide auf getrennten Wassersystemen, außerdem Rack mit 21 x 9 l Becken. Die Aquarien können individuell von zwei unabhängigen Meerwassersystemen für eine Vielzahl von Experimenten versorgt werden. Ein zweiter Aquarienraum umfasst vier getrennten Wassersysteme (1800 l, 2040 l, 1350 l und 1220 l, wobei jedes System in mehrere separate Becken unterteilt ist), einschließlich einer Anzahl kleinerer, mobiler Becken für individuelle Versuchsanordnungen.

Die laboreigene Recheninfrastruktur umfasst ein Linux-Cluster (540 Cores - 4992GB RAM + Nvidia TitanV - 12GB VRAM 640 Tensor Cores), Datenbankserver (MariaDB und PostgreSQL) mit 32 Cores und 128GB RAM, 26TB HPC storage, einen zentralen Datenspeicher mit ~200TB Kapazität, einen Galaxy-Server zur reproduzierbaren Verwaltung komplexer Analyse-Workflows und einen Geneious-Server zur Standard-Sequenzanalyse.

Forschungsprojekte

Schwerpunktmäßig wird in den Laboren zur Evolution, Genomik, Proteomik, Biodiversität, Systematik und Biomineralisation von marinen Invertebraten geforscht, wie z.B. zu Schwämmen, Seesternen, bakteriellen Schwamm-Symbionten, zur Biomineralisation von Schwämmen, Weich- und Steinkorallen, zur Stammesgeschichte der Tiere und an der Entwicklung von Bioinformatik-Tools. (Siehe www.geobiology.eu)

Kontakt